Two Tasty Meals

Success!  I’m very proud I managed to accomplish both goals this weekend…

Step one: Eat healthier.

Check!   Saturday afternoon I whipped up a lovely dish of steamed green vegetables, brown rice, and a ginger sauce adapted from this recipe.  Unfortunately there was no rice wine nor corn starch in the apartment and a trip to the market for this meal had already been made.  I attempted to substitute red wine, but it smelled horrible so I ditched the first batch.  For the lack of corn starch, I used… ::gasp!:: Maple Grove pancake mix.  Due to an unfortunate incident with weevils, the flour and corn starch were recently tossed and not yet replaced, so pancake mix was the next best available thing.  Hey, my ginger veggies turned out fabulous.

Sunday’s dinner was also delectable.  It followed a happy accomplishment of…

Step two: Exercise.

New canisters were needed to prevent future weevil incidents, along with an array of other new-apartment-items.  I intended to take the subway to the Bed Bath & Beyond on 18th and 6th, but halfway down the subway entrance I changed my mind.  I realized, “Right here is an opportunity to get in a little exercise on a beautiful autumn day.”  With my cup of hot cider in hand from the farmer’s market, (healthier than coffee or cocoa!) I proudly turned back around to walk the extra mile.  Plus, there was the added bonus of saving $2.25 for the subway fare.  We ended up walking about 3.5 miles in all, maybe 4 if you consider wandering around The Container Store, BB&B, and TJ Maxx.  By the time we got home, it was past 8pm.  It was a late start, but we managed to put together a scrumptious arugula-cranberry salad with a balsamic vinaigrette:

And cinnamon butternut squash soup (based on this fun little recipe) with nutmeg croutons made with a crusty french bread.  The croutons were an amalgamation of recipes and creativity, and they were divine.

It was 9:00 by the time we were eating.  I guess you can’t win ’em all.

Regardless, I’m pretty proud of this little milestone.  I definitely feel a little better already.

2 Comments to “Two Tasty Meals”

  1. Weevils are such a pain for people who don’t use a pound of flour a month! I’ve resorted to storing all flour/starch etc in zip lock bags, and keeping them in the freezer. Ugh they’re so nasty.

    • No kidding! I read putting the containers in the freezer for 3-4 days when you bring new boxes home from the grocery store will sanitize them, and whole bay leaves are a natural repellent if you want to put the container in your pantry after the initial freeze… but I definitely believe in those air-tight containers now. I never knew why people did that… I guess it only needs to happen once!

Leave a Reply

